Welcome to

Hotel Balmes Barcelona

, search and book your room

USD U.S. dollar

English


Choose your language

Reviews Recommended by 62 guests out of 69

Overall Hotel rating

  • Property facilities 4.1
    • Aspect and property quality 4.2
    • Room cleanliness 4.3
    • Room comfort 3.6
    • Hotel location (city centre or good connections to) 4.3
  • Service offered 3.4
    • Quality of the service and treatment 4
    • Professionalism of employees 4.2
    • Average satisfaction for the service received 3.9
    • Quality of breakfast 1.4
  • Balance between web presentation and reality 3.8
    • Property pictures 3.8
    • Room pictures 3.4
    • Available services 3.6
    • Distance from the centre and the main tourist attractions 4.2

Rating by type of Guests

  • Single traveller (7) 3.6
  • Couple (45) 4.2
  • Couple with children (6) 3.8
  • Business traveller (9) 3.8
  • Group (2) 3.6
  • Legend
  • 1pt: bad
  • 2pt: average
  • 3pt: above average
  • 4pt: good
  • 5pt: excellent

Guest reviews with comments

  • 15 October 2016
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Francesco Giordani (Italy)Couple
  • 19 May 2014
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Brigitte Laflamme (Canada)Couple
  • 2 October 2013
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    Une bonne situation pour cet hôtel au personnel sympathique toujours prêt à aider. Le plus : la piscine et son sauna, accessibles jusqu'à 21 heures. Un bon rapport qualité prix dans une ville où le prix des hôtels est relativement élevé quand ils sont bien placés. Parking à 25€/jour, taxes comprises. C'est cher mais indispensable car il est impossible de se garer dans Barcelone sauf coup de chance. Petit déjeuner à 14€/personne. Ne l'ayant pas pris, nous ne pouvons pas vous dire ce qu'il contenait. Nous sommes satisfaits de cet hôtel et nous le recommandons !

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 6 July 2013
    3.3 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (United States)Group
  • 18 June 2013
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 3 June 2013
    4.2 / 5 Good

    MELISSA DIDIOT (ALCIMED) (France)Business traveller
  • 3 April 2013
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Chambre très petite avec fenêtre sur court très étroite et vis à vis direct.
    Chaleur insoutenable dans la chambre et air conditionné ne fonctionnant pas.
    Prix du parking indiqué sans tenir en compte les 10% d'IVA.

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 9 March 2013
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    We had an internal room. The window faced the center (not a garden or pool view). The only complaint we had was that the room smelled. It seemed like the bathroom exhaust stacks were all in that center area, which fed into our room.

    Leslie Dorsey (United States)Couple
  • 30 December 2012
    4 / 5 Good

    Trop de bruit de la femme de ménage et des voisins de chambres

    Alex Serra (France)Couple
  • 27 December 2012
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Mohamed Mohey (Egypt)Single traveller
  • 23 September 2012
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Robert Owen (Australia)Couple
  • 15 April 2012
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Felipe Rodriguez verdu (Norway)Couple with children
  • 25 December 2011
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Thomas Boss (Switzerland)Single traveller
  • 15 November 2011
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Bon rapport qualité prix. Bien situé.

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 13 October 2011
    3.8 / 5 Good

    A good, quiet hotel with helpful ,friendly staff. Room was smaller than expected and breakfast choices limited. Biggest drawback was distance from main tourist sites-15minute walk to Las Ramblas

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 25 August 2011
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Marco Figliolia (Italy)Couple
  • 28 June 2011
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Schelbi (Switzerland)Group
  • 17 June 2011
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Hôtel que l'on peut recommander

    Max Chevalier (France)Couple
  • 10 January 2011
    4 / 5 Good

    Lorenzo Muracchini (Italy)Couple
  • 20 December 2010
    2.8 / 5 Above average

    Amméliorer l'isolation sonore (on entend tout des voisins) et enlever l'odeur de tabac froid dans les chambres. c'est tres désagreable.

    Simone Mazer (France)Business traveller
  • 14 December 2010
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Spain)Couple
  • 6 November 2010
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Spain)Business traveller
  • 27 October 2010
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Couture Guy (Canada)Couple
  • 29 September 2010
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 27 August 2010
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 8 July 2010
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Sandrine Jacot (Switzerland)Couple
  • 19 June 2010
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Manuel paoloni (Italy)Couple
  • 14 June 2010
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Quando siamo stati in hotel abbiamo preso un depliant e lo abbiamo dato a dei nostri amici che si recheranno ad agosto prossimo a barcellona con ottimi commenti.
    buon lavoro e continuate cosi'
    P.S. noi avevamo una camera comunicante con un altra un piccolo consiglio fate le porte
    piu' insonorizzate perche' si sentiva l'altro cliente russare e non e' piacevole.

    Monica romani (Italy)Couple
  • 9 June 2010
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Disappointed by the noisy party weekenders who had been booked in and placed in rooms adjacent to regular guests with subsequent noise and loss of sleep

    Ian maddison (Australia)Couple
  • 15 April 2010
    3.6 / 5 Good

    The only issue were that the beds were like boards to sleep on and whilst we like frim beds these were simply to hard

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple with children
  • 6 April 2010
    3.5 / 5 Good

    LA HABITACION INDIVIDUAL QUE ME ASIGNARON, EN RELACION AL PRECIO, CARA POR LA SUPERFICIE, LA CAMA PEQUEÑA, PERO NO CABIA UNA MAS GRANDE. EN DEFINITIVA UN CUCHITRIL A PRECIO DE SUITE.

    Anonymous (Spain)Single traveller
  • 28 February 2010
    3.6 / 5 Good

    Bagno non funzionante, cambio stanza con supplemento perchè la camera della prima notte era piccola con soffitto basso , fredda e riscaldamento molto rumoroso. Seconda stanza, con supplemento , migliore anche se lo sciacuone era rotto.

    Anonymous (Italy)Business traveller
  • 7 December 2009
    3 / 5 Above average

    Zimmer sehr klein
    Zimmer ging gegen die Strasse: Sehr laut! Schlecht isolierte Fenster!

    Guido Messmer (Switzerland)Single traveller
  • 4 December 2009
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Couture Guy (Canada)Business traveller
  • 4 December 2009
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Excellent service.
    The only complaint is the lack of ventilation in the bathroom and in the room. The air condition was disabled and we had to open the window to get fresh air.
    Single beds are of the small size but comfortable.

    Anonymous (Canada)Couple
  • 1 December 2009
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Lamentamos que la recepcion nos dio habitacion en la planta baja. La unica luz que tenia era la de un pasillo DE DIA Y DE NOCHE!

    Prudencio saez marin (Spain)Business traveller
  • 20 October 2009
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Quiet hotel in superb location! The staff was extremely helpful and available to answer questions or provide recommendations.

    Anonymous (United States)Couple
  • 11 October 2009
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Canada)Couple
  • 4 October 2009
    2.5 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (Norway)Couple
  • 16 September 2009
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Italy)Single traveller
  • 14 September 2009
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 28 August 2009
    3.5 / 5 Good

    There was a HUGE difference between single room comfort and the dobble room comfort. And only a very small difference in price

    Anonymous (Denmark)Single traveller
  • 28 August 2009
    3.4 / 5 Above average

    Complessivamente è una buona struttura. I giudizi negativi riguardano esclusivamente la dimensione della camera che assomigliava quasi ad un loculo... davvero piccola. Ritengo che per un soggiorno di ben 5 notti avrebbero potuto assegnarne una un po' più ampia. Quella che ci è stata assegnata sarebbe stata piccola come camera singola... figurarsi con un letto matrimoniale. Inoltre il posto auto nel garage interno lo sconsiglio a chi tiene alla propria vettura: piccolo e sacrificato come la camera. Il giorno della partenza per entrare in auto ho dovuto aprire il baule, ribaltare il sedile posteriore ed entrare dal baule in quanto era impossibile aprire le portiere, causa vicinanza eccessiva tra le auto. Se avessi avuto una berlina...

    Carlo (Italy)Couple
  • 17 August 2009
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Spain)Couple with children
  • 19 July 2009
    3.5 / 5 Good

    On the presentation the parking is include in services, in the reality, the parking is private and you have to pay more than 20€/day.....If tou need a parking, choose another place !!!!!
    For the hotel, nice place et near to the Catalan restaurant :-)))

    Villain guillaume (France)Couple
  • 15 July 2009
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Se si arriva a far colazione dopo le 9,30 c'è poca scelta.

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 10 July 2009
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Ted Zorn (New Zealand)Couple with children
  • 6 July 2009
    3.2 / 5 Above average

    Please, add free internet connection in the rooms!

    ALBERTO CIGOGNINI (Italy)Business traveller
  • 5 July 2009
    4.1 / 5 Good

    P.H. (Denmark)Couple
  • 3 July 2009
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Fausto Chegai (Italy)Couple with children
  • 29 June 2009
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Convenient tourist location in the Eixample, therefore at walking distance from the most famous houses of Antoni Gaudì and the Passeig de Gràcia / Plaça de Catalunya, and relatively close to the Sagrada Familia (some 20 minutes walk). Also quite close to the Rambla and the Barri Gotic - in any case a subway station is at 5 minutes walk.
    Overall good level of the rooms, with nice and modern decor even if a little dark (very small window) - artificial light needed all day. One problem : during the first night the room was full of mosquitos.
    Morning breakfast was all right, with wide choice of cold cuts (very good iberico ham !) even if some scrambled eggs could be welcomed to complete the selection. Very good idea to serve the typically catalan bread with tomato.
    Friendly and helpful staff, speaking several languages, italian included.

    DAVIDE - Torino (Italy) (Italy)Couple
  • 23 June 2009
    2.3 / 5 Average

    Anonymous (Italy)Single traveller
  • 4 June 2009
    4 / 5 Good

    Iacopo Nocentini (Italy)Couple
  • 28 May 2009
    3.7 / 5 Good

    Il costo della colazione è leggermente caro rispetto a quanto offerto.

    Enrico e Patrizia (Italy)Couple
  • 27 May 2009
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Unico neo : rumore della metro in camera da letto

    Cristian ambrosini (Italy)Couple
  • 20 May 2009
    3.3 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (Denmark)Couple with children
  • 23 April 2009
    3.4 / 5 Above average

    The bedrooms on facing the road are very nosiy. Apart from this a very succesful stay

    Thomas Long (Switzerland)Business traveller
  • 17 April 2009
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Our room (616) was very hot. (all the time) We set daily air condiotioner maxium level but it did not help. I dont know was the air condiotioner broken but it was nearly impossible to sleep at nights. And also waking up was not nice such a warm temperature. I mentioned about that for reception after first night but i was told that hotel is full and we can´t change the room so we "had to suffer" with this problem 4 nights. Luckily it was not the hottest season yet in Barcelona. We were thinking how the othet guests arriving in the hot summer can survive with this warm room outside temperature rising nearly 30?
    Anyway, hotel location and employees were excellent and Barcelona as a city was a great experience!

    Tero Kaira (Finland)Couple
  • 26 February 2009
    3.4 / 5 Above average

    Anonymous (Belgium)Couple
  • 26 January 2009
    4 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Italy)Business traveller
  • 25 January 2009
    4.2 / 5 Good

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable however noisy, when people in other romms used bathrooms and took shower it was very noisy, also when the staff in the hall chatted I got disturbed in my room. Apart from that excllent location. Tax was not included in price which was given before- that's also the low point.

    Adrian Kueenzi (Poland)Couple
  • 8 January 2009
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Price of breakfast is expensive so that many guests avoid this (have you noticed a certain emptiness of breakfast room?). My suggestion is to include breakfast in the room rates, eventually to be increased.
    Wireless internet connection and PC facilities at the hall are slow and sometimes unstable.
    It is advisable that heating system can be adjusted from every room (our was really hot).

    Raimondo Mandis (Italy)Couple
  • 20 December 2008
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Emilio Jimenez (Spain)Couple
  • 16 December 2008
    4.2 / 5 Good

    The hotel is quiet even though it is on a main street.However, for those who wish to lie in there was a fair amount of corridor noise in the morning. A good location for visiting the main tourist attractions in the city centre, a gentle 15 mins walk. 10 mins to the Metro. Would recommend this hotel and will use it again on our next visit.

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 2 December 2008
    4 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 24 November 2008
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    Tornerei volentieri in questo hotel, anche se il prezzo non è molto economico. Non posso dare giudizi sulla colazione non avendola mai provata.Vi consiglio di portarvi degli adattatori se avete spine italiane a 3 poli poichè in albergo le prese sono tutte a 2 poli.

    ELEONORA E FABRIZIO (Italy)Couple
  • 13 November 2008
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 1 November 2008
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Spain)Couple
  • 21 October 2008
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Manuela Magliozzi (Italy)Couple

Give us your Feedback